DRIVE SOBER OR GET PULLED OVER

Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over

Enforcement Mobilization

From August 14 to September 2, Florida law enforcement agencies are joining NHTSA and law enforcement agencies nationwide for the “Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over” enforcement mobilization. They will be out in full force cracking down on one of the most dangerous and all too often committed – yet preventable – of crimes (impaired driving). Florida law enforcement and highway safety professionals will be working to help reduce the number of impaired drivers on our roads and save lives. By increasing Florida enforcement efforts and raising public awareness through local and social media they can make a difference.Impaired driving has become a serious safety epidemic in our country.

Impaired driving has become a serious safety epidemic in our country.

Nationally 17.2 million drivers have driven one or more times in the preceding 12 months when they thought they were over the legal limit. That’s double the combined game attendance of all 10 major league teams and the motor speedways in Florida.

Myth 1

A 12 fluid ounce (fl oz) beer has the same amount of alcohol as most other alcoholic drinks.

Fact: An average 12 fl oz beer has about 4.2-5% alcohol content, 8-9 fl oz of malt liquor has about 7% alcohol content, 5 fl oz of wine has about 12% alcohol content, and 1.5 fl oz of distilled spirits (gin, rum, tequila, vodka, whiskey, etc.) has about 40% alcohol content.

Myth 2

Coffee or an energy drink will sober up an impaired person.

Fact: A person might be more awake, but they are still impaired. Only time can sober a person up.

Myth 3

A friend only had a few drinks, they do not look drunk, they are OK to drive.

Fact: Just because someone does not look, does not mean they are not impaired. Judgment is the first thing affected when someone has been drinking – coordination and motor skills are second and third.

Myth 4

If a person had a few drinks, they can just ride their bike home.

Fact: In Florida, bicycles are subject to the same laws as all other motor vehicles. If a person rides impaired, they can still get a DUI.

That drink could have more alcohol than you expected. Judgment is the first thing affected when someone has been drinking – coordination and motor skills are second and third

Florida DUI Laws

WHAT DO YOU HAVE TO LOSE?

YOUR MONEY

Bond, legal costs, and towing fees; up to $10,000 in fines if convicted of DUI.

YOUR TIME

Minimum 72 hours in jail following arrest; up to 10 years in jail if convicted of DUI.

YOUR LICENSE

Your driver’s license could be suspended for up to 2 years if convicted of DUI. Learn More

FLORIDA IMPAIRED DRIVING STRATEGIC PLAN

The Impaired Driving Strategic Plan was created and updated annually by the Florida Impaired Driving Coalition (FIDC) and supports the Florida’s Strategic Highway Safety Plan (SHSP).